College World Series bracket: Here’s how it looks in Omaha

Local Sports

OMAHA, Neb. (KXAN) — The College World Series is underway with eight teams vying for the Division 1 NCAA baseball national championship over the 10-day tournament from Omaha.

Each team at the College World Series won a regional and super regional round to make the grand stage at TD Ameritrade Park. No. 2 Texas went 5-0 through the first two rounds, sweeping the super regional against South Florida and winning the regional over Arizona State, Fairfield and Southern University.

The eight-team field is broken into two brackets for the double-elimination portion of the tournament. Bracket No. 1 consists of three national seeds — No. 4 Vanderbilt, No. 5 Arizona, No. 9 Stanford and North Carolina State. No. 2 Texas is in Bracket No. 2 with No. 3 Tennessee, No. 7 Mississippi State and Virginia.

Texas is the highest ranked national seed remaining in the field.

The winner of each bracket will advance to the national championship series, starting Monday, June 28, for a best two-out-of-three series. Losses from previous College World Series games are wiped away.

Bracket No. 1

  • No. 4 Vanderbilt (3-1)
  • No. 5 Arizona (0-2) ELIMINATED
  • No. 9 Stanford (1-2) ELIMINATED
  • North Carolina St. (2-1) ELIMINATED

Bracket No. 2

  • No. 2 Texas (3-1)
  • No. 3 Tennessee (0-2) ELIMINATED
  • No. 7 Mississippi State (2-1)
  • Virginia (1-2) ELIMINATED

College World Series schedule

Saturday, June 19

Game 1: NC State wins over Stanford 10-4
Game 2: Vanderbilt wins over Arizona 7-6

Sunday, June 20

Game 3: Virginia wins over Tennessee 6-0
Game 4: Mississippi State wins over Texas 2-1

Monday, June 21

Game 5: Stanford wins over Arizona 14-5
Game 6: NC State wins over Vanderbilt 1-0

Tuesday, June 22

Game 7: Texas wins over Tennessee 8-4
Game 8: Mississippi State wins over Virginia 6-5

Wednesday, June 23

Game 9: Vanderbilt wins over Stanford 6-5

Thursday, June 24

Game 10: Texas wins over Virginia 6-2

Friday, June 25

Game 11: Vanderbilt wins over NC State 3-1
Game 12: Texas wins over Mississippi State 8-5

Saturday, June 26

Game 13: Vanderbilt vs. NC State – Declared no contest due to COVID-19 protocols with NC State (Vanderbilt advances to finals)
Game 14: Mississippi State vs. Texas | 6 p.m. | ESPN2

CWS Finals (Best-of-3 series)

Game 1: 6 p.m. | Monday, June 28 | ESPN2
Game 2: 6 p.m. | Tuesday, June 29 | ESPN
Game 3: 6 p.m. | Wednesday, June 30 | ESPN2 (if necessary)

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Sports Headlines

More Sports

Top Stories

More Top Stories

Tracking the Coronavirus

Coronavirus Cases Tracker

Latest Central Texas COVID-19 Cases

Trending Stories

Don't Miss