WATCH: Texas football dedicates field to Earl Campbell, Ricky Williams

Horns Report

AUSTIN (KXAN) — The University of Texas officially dedicated the field at Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium to its two Heisman trophy winners Earl Campbell and Ricky Williams on Saturday.

Campbell and Williams stood with University of Texas President Jay Hartzell and Athletics Director Chris Del Conte prior to the Longhorns’ home opener against Louisiana and watched as the new name, Campbell-Williams Field, was unveiled in the south end zone of the stadium.

The field was previously dedicated to Joe Jamail, a massively successful University of Texas graduate who donated millions to the university, in 1997. The change to Campbell-Williams field was made at the request of the Jamail family.

Campbell was Texas’ first Heisman Trophy winner. Ricky Williams became the program’s second Heisman winner in 1998, breaking the NCAA record for rushing yards.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Sports Headlines

More Sports

Top Stories

More Top Stories

Tracking the Coronavirus

Coronavirus Cases Tracker

Latest Central Texas COVID-19 Cases

Trending Stories

Don't Miss