AUSTIN (KXAN) — Jose “Chito” Vela will be the next city council member in Austin’s District 4, KXAN projects.

Vela, one of seven candidates vying for Greg Casar’s vacated seat, won 59.23% of the vote total. KXAN estimates 100% of all votes have been counted.

According to results from the Travis County Clerk, Vela won the vote in all precincts within District 4.

Support was strongest in the southern part of the district. The candidate received more than 82% of the vote in Precinct 114, which covers areas near 51st Street and Cameron Road.

At his campaign party at Knomad Bar Tuesday night, Vela told KXAN he will prioritize concerns including traffic, crime and homelessness within District 4. When asked what issue was mentioned most by voters he encountered, Vela replied, “housing, housing, housing.”

“People are in shock at the housing prices, the rental prices going prices going up,” he said. “They’re worried about their future, their children’s future. We’ve got to address this housing crisis.”

Casar announced last year his run for the newly-drawn 35th congressional district, which includes most of Travis County east of Interstate 35 before trailing down into Hays, Comal and Bexar counties.

Vela is an immigration and criminal defense attorney who ran for Congress in 2018 and was endorsed by Casar in this race.

“Together, we’ve created a bold, progressive agenda for the city of Austin, and I’m eager to see our new District 4 City Council Member, Chito Vela, continue that work with our community,” Casar said in a press release. “Despite constant fear-mongering and smear campaigns from far-right wing special interests, District 4 voters elected a progressive champion tonight. We’ve proven that progressive policies are popular, and I’m looking forward to working with Chito to deliver for working families.” 

The other six candidates in the election were:

Turnout was lackluster, with 10.45% of registered voters in the district casting a ballot. The map below shows turnout in each precinct.

Vela will finish Casar’s term through the 2024 election cycle.