AUSTIN (KXAN) — It’s Election Day in Texas, and we’re watching several key primary runoff races that will be decided Tuesday night.

Election Day resources

Voters will head to the polls to pick the Republican and Democratic nominees for Texas Attorney General.

The Republican primary race for Texas AG led to a runoff, pitting incumbent Ken Paxton against Land Commissioner George P. Bush. Paxton led the way in the primary but could not clear the 50% vote threshold to avoid a runoff.

Democratic voters will choose between former ACLU attorney Rochelle Garza and Joe Jaworski, a former mayor of Galveston. It’s been more than two decades since a Democrat has won the office of Texas Attorney General.

  • Voter walks into Tarrytown polling location, May 24, 2022.
  • Voter sign near Tarrytown polling location in Austin, May 24, 2022.
  • Voter walks into Tarrytown polling location, May 24, 2022.
  • Voter walks into Tarrytown polling location, May 24, 2022.

Follow along in this live blog for Election Day updates.

Election Day live blog

10:11 p.m. Tuesday

KXAN projects Caroline Harris will win the Texas House District 52 Republican runoff, Carrie Isaac will win the Texas House District 37 Republican runoff, Tracie Wright-Renau will win the 207th District Judge Republican runoff, Jenny Garcia Sharon will win the U.S. Congress 37 Republican runoff, Dan McQueen will win the U.S. Congress 35 Republican runoff, Ellen Troxclair will win the Texas House District 19 Republican runoff and Dan Mueller will win the Fayette County Judge Republican runoff.

The AP calls Rochelle Garza the winner of the Texas Attorney General race Democratic runoff. She’ll face Ken Paxton in November. AP also called Janet Dudding the winner of the Democratic runoff for Comptroller.  She’ll face incumbent Glenn Hegar in November.

9:40 p.m. Tuesday

KXAN projects Dianne Miller to win the Lampasas County Clerk Republican runoff, Michelle Gutierrez Cohen to win the Hays County Commissioner 2 Democratic runoff, Stan Gerdes to win the Texas House District 17 Republican runoff and James Denman to win the Milam County Commissioner 2 Republican runoff.

8:54 p.m. Tuesday

Dawn Buckingham is projected to win the Land Commissioner Republican runoff, Wayne Christian is projected to win the Texas Railroad Commissioner Republican runoff, Gregory Klaus is projected to win Bastrop County Judge Republican runoff and Dianne Miller is projected to win Lampasas County Clerk Republican runoff.

The Associated Press projected Claudia Zapata to win the U.S. House District 21 Democratic runoff, which pits her against Rep. Chip Roy in November.

8:39 p.m. Tuesday

KXAN projects Charles Riley wins the Republican Blanco County Commissioner 4 runoff

8:17 p.m. Tuesday

Current Attorney General Ken Paxton is projected to win the Republican runoff against George P. Bush, with 65.79% of the vote to 34.21% of the vote and 46% reporting.

KXAN also projects Lisa Simpson will win the Republican Llano Justice of the Peace 4 runoff.

7 p.m. Tuesday

Polls closed at 7 p.m. but people still in line can still vote. See the latest election results here.

1:35 p.m. Tuesday

The Republican primary runoff election for the newly-drawn Texas House District 19 pits an Austin police officer against a former Austin City councilmember. 

Justin Berry faces Ellen Troxclair, a former Austin City Councilmember, in the runoff.

Read more about the race.

11:35 a.m. Tuesday

congressional primary runoff race in south Texas is getting national attention. The Democratic runoff for U.S. House District 28 features two candidates who have sharply differing views on abortion.

Nine-term Congressman Henry Cuellar of Laredo is the only House Democrat who voted against the Women’s Health Protection Act, which aimed to codify Roe v. Wade. The legislation cleared the House but failed to pass in the Senate.

Cuellar faces progressive challenger Jessica Cisneros in the runoff.

11:30 a.m. Tuesday

Here’s a rundown of some of the races we’re watching Tuesday.

Incumbent Railroad Commission chairman Wayne Christian is facing a challenge from Sarah Stogner in the Republican primary runoff.

Stogner, an oil and gas attorney, is still considered an underdog in the runoff against Christian.

The Railroad Commission of Texas regulates the state’s oil and gas industry. Despite the name, it does not regulate railroads in Texas.

Christian was first elected to the Railroad Commission in 2016. He previously served in the legislature as a State Representative. Christian won 47% of the vote in the primary, falling short of the 50% threshold needed to avoid a runoff.