UT athletics celebrates inaugural ‘Longhorn Honors’ night


AUSTIN (KXAN) — The University of Texas athletic department celebrated accomplishments in both men’s and women’s sports in its inaugural “Longhorn Honors” event at Bass Concert Hall Monday.

There was plenty of excitement surrounding the event because it was a chance for the athletes to celebrate their achievments of the season together as an athletic department. 

“It’s a blessing to have this opportunity with these guys and such tremendous athletes around me in every sport,” said Texas quarterback Sam Ehlinger.

Ehlinger won the Male Breakout Performance award and the Longhorns football team won the Team of the Year award for its 10 win, Sugar Bowl title season in 2018. 

Diver Murphy Bromberg won the Female Athlete of the Year award and former Lake Travis golfer Kaitlyn Papp won the Female Newcomer award as a Longhorn sophomore.

Volleyball’s Micaya White and Swimming’s John Shebat won the Female and Male Scholar Athletes of the Year awards, respectively. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Sports Headlines

More Sports

Top Stories

More Top Stories

Locked In Limbo

More Locked in Limbo

Latest Central Texas COVID-19 Cases

More Coronavirus Cases in Central Texas

Trending Stories

Don't Miss