FEMA approves 31 more Texas counties for individual assistance in the wake of winter storms


FEMA US Homeland Security Citizen and Immigration Services Flyer Closeup

AUSTIN (KXAN) — On Monday, the Federal Emergency Management Agency added 31 more Texas counties to the major disaster declaration for individual assistance, meaning residents in 108 Texas counties overall now have access to federal help for damages caused from the winter storm. The White House initially approved 77 counties for individual assistance.

In our area, two new counties were added to that list — Burnet and Milam counties.

“I thank FEMA for their swift approval of these additional counties and for their continued partnership as we ensure Texans have access to relief following the winter storm,” Gov. Greg Abbott said Monday in a statement. “I urge Texans to use the Texas Individual Assistance Reporting Tool so that the state can continue to identify damages and fight for the crucial assistance that our communities need.”

Other counties included in Monday’s announcement include Anderson, Austin, Bosque, Bowie, Cherokee, Colorado, Erath, Fannin, Freestone, Gonzales, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hill, Houston, Hunt, Jackson, Jim Wells, Jones, Limestone, Lubbock, Medina, Navarro, Rusk, Taylor, Tom Green, Val Verde, Washington, and Wood.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Tracking the Coronavirus

Coronavirus Cases Tracker

Latest Central Texas COVID-19 Cases

Trending Stories

Don't Miss