They want your vote but how often do they vote themselves?

Beto O'Rourke campaigning in Austin's Mueller neighborhood on Oct. 31, 2018

AUSTIN (KXAN) — KXAN requested all of the voting records for the candidates for statewide office. Some candidates don’t vote as much as you’d like. 

In the top of the ticket race for United States Senator from Texas, Beto O’Rourke has shown up to the polls more than the other two candidates. O’Rourke’s first election was in the 2000 April runoff. Sen. Ted Cruz first voted in 2004. O’Rourke is a year younger than Cruz. 

The libertarian candidate Neal Dikeman has only voted twice in Texas according to Secretary of State records: the November general elections in 2012 and 2016.

According to state records, Lupe Valdez and Greg Abbott first voted in the 1996 general election. Libertarian candidate Mark Tippetts didn’t vote until 2000 primary but has been a frequent voter in Republican primaries ever since.

Lt. Governor Dan Patrick began voting in Texas in the 2006 primary election and has voted the most out of the Lt. Governor candidates. Libertarian candidate Kerry McKinnon began voting in 2010 and often voted in the Republican primary. Mike Collier voted in the general elections for several years but didn’t begin voting in Democratic primaries until 2014.

In the race for Attorney General, according to the secretary of state records, Justin Nelson is a newcomer to voting in Texas. The Democrat’s first election to cast a Texas ballot was in November 2015. The libertarian candidate Michael Harris began to vote in 2004, most often in the Republican primary. Incumbent Attorney general’s first vote in Texas was in 1998.

Out of all the statewide candidates this year, Incumbent Republican Comptroller Glenn Hegar has voted the most. His first election was in 1998. Democratic challenger began voting in Texas a decade later in November 2008. Libertarian candidate Ben Sanders has voted twice; the first time in 2016. 

Out of the land commissioner candidates, Incumbent Republican George P. Bush has voted in Texas the most. His first being November 2004, when his uncle was on the ballot for President. Democratic challenger Miguel Suazo’s first time to vote in Texas was in the 2016 general election. Matthew Pina began voting in the 2004 general election, like Bush. 

For Commissioner of Agriculture, the incumbent leads the pack and is the second out of all state officials in total number at the Texas polls. Sid Miller has voted since 1998. Democratic challenger Kim Olson has voted since 2004. She voted in Republican primaries in 2010 and 2012. The libertarian in the race, Richard Carpenter has voted since the 2008 general election. 

For railroad commissioner, Republican Christi Craddick has voted the most in Texas. She voted for the first time in the 2008 Republican primary. Roman McAllen has voted since the 2008 Democratic primary. The Libertarian candidate, Michael Wright, has voted for a longer time – since 2004 – but fewer times. 

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Austin-Travis County

More Austin-Travis County News

Tracking the Coronavirus

Coronavirus Cases Tracker

Latest Central Texas COVID-19 Cases

More Coronavirus Live Blogs

Trending Stories

Don't Miss